House Anonymous

from house to home

First Project June 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — houseanonymous @ 8:22 pm

What was your first project when you moved into your new home?  For us, it might not be what you expect but once we got everything in the house and thought “where do we start?” it was kind of obvious.  When we had our first showing we noticed that the laundry was in a closet in the master bedroom.  At first, I said “This is awful!”  In our area it is most common to have the washer and dryer in their own room, or the room may be a pass through to the garage.  I have never seen a set up quite like the one we have.  The more I thought about it though, the more I thought it actually would be pretty convenient to have the washer and dryer in the bedroom – at least it won’t be far to put my clothes away!  But it still needed a little work to help make it more user friendly.  It was a closet just big enough to hold a washer and dryer with one high shelf like you would find in a clothes closet.  I knew I could make it so much more functional!  I am a slacker so I forgot to take a before picture.  We pulled down the shelf and painted the inside of the closet a medium grey to match what we were planning on painting the room.  One trip to the Container Store later and… Voila!

Image

Three shelves to hold all the laundry room essentials, a hanging bar for hanging clothes to dry, and a lower shelf to sort everything as I fold it.  Brilliant!  (If I may say so myself!)  5 months in, I can say that it is working great for me.  Everything I need is within arms reach, which makes laundry easy peasy.  The best part is, if it is a big mess all I have to do is close the doors and I can ignore it until I am ready to face it again.  I call that a win!

 

Leave a Reply

