House Anonymous

from house to home

We bought a new house! May 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — houseanonymous @ 8:37 pm

Actually, we have been in it for about 4 months now, so we have had time to(more or less) get unpacked and start on some projects. We decided to move from East Texas to the DFW area to be closer to my family and because I got a great job offer. The whole process was a bit of a mess – I was originally supposed to commute and stay with my family three days a week while I worked, then commute back to East Texas while our house was on the market. That plan lasted all of a week. Blair said he wanted to take advantage of the crazy heat wave to get a job in Dallas. I really think he just missed me. Regardless, we went to stay with my family. We had to find a new home for the kitties 😦 because my brother is allergic. We brought Ruby and Briley (of course!) and moved in with my mom, dad, sister, and brother. It was cozy to say the least! We ended up staying with them for 6 months because we had a hard time selling our house. It was not exactly what we anticipated but we were so lucky to be able to have family to stay with and we got so spoiled to have my mom preparing meals and helping with laundry and house cleaning.

Now we are finally in our own place! While it was great living with my family we are really happy to have our own space. This house is quite a bit larger than our home in East Texas, and was built in 1988 as opposed to 2006. This has given us some challenges which you will hear all about, but I bet what you would really like is to see the house. So, without further ado, our new abode!

View from the front

Front view of the house


Kitchen

Kitchen


Living room

Living room


Master bedroom

Master bedroom


Master bath

Master bath


The gameroom (upstairs)

The gameroom (upstairs)


The backyard

The backyard


These pictures are from the real estate listing. The former homeowners had a different decorating style than I do so it has definitely been a challenge trying to figure out what will stay, what will change, and what is most important. Stay tuned to see what we have been up to!