House Anonymous

from house to home

Bed of Roses… April 21, 2009

Filed under: Landscaping — houseanonymous @ 9:07 pm

Well, maybe not quite, but its well on its way!  I have only been talking about our landscape plan for… months now.  Blair bought me some climbing roses for Valentine’s day, and they have been in containers all this time.  Well today I finally got to work on the rose garden.  Here is the back corner of our backyard before…

p2270778Yes, our backyard has a few challenges.  It is not especially large, at least for our area, and it has a pretty significant slope.  The slope may not be very obvious in the picture, but it became very obvious to me today while I was working!  Here is a picture of the flower bed in progress, after I had removed all the grass…

p4210798It may not look very impressive, but it was a lot of work!  There are a lot of roots in that area working against me.  And my bypass loppers that you see on the right side of the picture are being held together by duct tape… so they didn’t really give me the required leverage to cut through roots…

The second big job/challenge of the day was to build a border around the bed.  It was a challenge because of the slope of the yard.  I really want all of our beds eventually to be bordered by stone, but I think I am going to wait for that until we are ready to do the front.  They don’t have the type of stone I want at Lowes, so I am planning to have some delivered by a local stone yard.  In meanwhile, I still want to do the job right, so I used some bricks we already had at the house from another project.  I think it turned out nicely…

p42107993It is a little tough to see, I will have to take a more close-up picture tomorrow.  Those two projects took the entire day today, including two trips to Lowes and a few other errands.  Blair was home when I got back from my second Lowes run, and today was his birthday so I decided that I had better not neglect him to play in the dirt some more!  Maybe I can get this project finished up tomorrow.  Stay tuned!